João Almeida and his Deceuninck-QuickStep team have managed to overturn a ‘yellow card’ penalty for littering during stage 3 of the Giro d’Italia , meaning the Portuguese rider is no longer at risk of receiving a one-minute penalty for a second offence.
Almeida and Samuele Zoccarato (Bardiani-CSF-Faizanè) were both fined 500 Swiss francs and docked 25 UCI ranking points in the official race results published two hours after Monday’s stage finish.
Under the new strict UCI rules for littering in stage races, they risked a time penalty for a second offence, effectively placing them in a yellow card situation and threatening Almeida overall ambitions in the Giro d’Italia if he was punished for a second littering offence. A third offence can be punished with disqualification from the race.
Michael Schär: A bottle reminded me of my cycling dream every day Michael Schär kicked out of Tour of Flanders for littering Kyle Murphy disqualified from GP Indurain for ‘accidentally’ dropping a gel wrapper
However as the riders signed on before stage 4 rolled out of a rain-soaked Piacenza on Tuesday morning, Almeida confirmed that his punishment had been cancelled. According to the Spaziociclismo website, Almeida, who wears race number 92, was confused with his teammate Fausto Masnata, who wears number 97.
“They’ve cancelled my penalty,” Almeida told RAI television before the start, with Zoccarato saying he was hoping for similar treatment when the race results are published after stage 4.
“I was on the attack all day and I knew that the television cameras […]
Continue reading the original article at: www.cyclingnews.com